Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association


View All News and Events

Welcome New & Returning Members!

It happens every fall and 2018 was no exception.

Michael F. Rich III

The greatest American institutional process was once again put into play on December 11, 2018 as voters went to the polls in record numbers to elect water commissioners in 21 districts in Nassau and Suffolk counties. The NSWCA welcomes the new and selected men and women and wishes them well in their respective positions. Each newly elected or re-elected commissioner will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2021.

NSWCA First Vice President and Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner Michael F. Rich III commented on the election results. “With the election process being hyper-local and so close to the community, the vote of each individual truly counts,” he said. “I am extremely pleased to welcome both our new colleagues and returning colleagues to NSWCA. Commissioner-run water districts enable all registered residents to express their personal preferences for the men and women of their choice at the ballot box through the voting process. It also helps ensure that present day economic goals as well as longer term goals such as conservation, sustainability and aquifer health are truly reflective of the mindset of all 21 communities.”

The NSWCA congratulates the following Long Island water district new elected and re-elected commissioners on their three-year term election:

  • Howard Abbondondelo, Albertson Water District, Re-elect
  • John F. Coumatos, Bethpage Water District, Re-elect
  • Italo J. Vacchio, Carle Place Water District, New elect
  • Glenn Barnett, Cathedral Gardens Water District, Re-elect
  • Madeline Presta, Franklin Square Water District, Re-elect
  • Chris Engel, Garden City Park Water District, Re-elect
  • James M. Logan, Greenlawn Water District, Re-elect
  • Karl M. Schweitzer, Hicksville Water District, Re-elect
  • Thomas A. Abbate, Jericho Water District, Re-elect
  • Peter Brown Locust Valley Water District, New elect
  • Patricia Peterson, Locust Valley Water District, New elect
  • Louis P. Savinetti Locust Valley Water District, Re-elect
  • Brian Morris, Manhasset-Lakeville Water District, Re-elect
  • Francis J. Flood. Massapequa Water District, New elect
  • Richard Niznik, Oyster Bay Water District, Re-elect
  • Andrew Bader, Plainview Water District, Re-elect
  • David Brackett, Port Washington Water District, Re-elect
  • Michael Kosinski, Roslyn Water District, Re-elect
  • John Hirt, South Farmingdale Water District, Re-elect
  • Joseph Perry, South Huntington Water District, New elect
  • Joseph Marando, West Hempstead Water District, Re-elect
  • Rodney Caines, Westbury Water District, New elect
  • Barry Green, Westbury Water District, New elect
  • Bernard McCabe, Glenwood Water District, Re-elect (not pictured)

 There are three water district commissioner positions in each district. District residents vote for one of the three commissioner positions each year. Due to the passing or resignation of commissioners in 2018, the Locust Valley Water District and the Westbury Water District had elections for more than one commissioner seat.