Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association


View All News and Events

Results of 2016 Commissioner Elections

Long Island voters have gone to the polls and elected or re-elected water commissioners in 21 commissioner-run water districts in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. The terms run from January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2018. Water district elections are held annually and residents vote for one of three district commissioners in each district.

“We are very pleased to welcome our new and returning colleagues to the NSWCA,” stated NSWCA President and Massapequa Water District Commissioner Thomas P. Hand. “Commissioner-run water districts enable residents and consumers to express their opinions and preferences through the voting process. One commissioner from each district is elected to represent the people. This puts emphasis on a hyper-local basis in each community. In such hyper-local elections, every resident’s vote truly counts.”

 Those elected or re-elected include:

Albertson WD:                          Howard Abbondondelo

Bethpage WD:                        John F. Coumatos

Carle Place WD:                      Peter W. Meade

Cathedral Gardens WD:         Glenn Barnett

Franklin Square WD:               Madeline Presta

Garden City Park WD:             Chris Engel

Glenwood WD:                        Bernard McCabe

Greenlawn WD:                       James M. Logan

Hicksville WD:                         Karl M. Schweitzer

Jericho WD:                             Thomas A. Abbate

Locust Valley WD:                    Louis P. Savinetti

Manhasset-Lakeville:               Brian J. Morris

Massapequa WD:                    Joseph T. Tricarico

Oyster Bay WD:                       Richard Niznik

Plainview WD:                         Andrew N. Bader

Port Washington WD:            David Brackett

Roslyn WD:                             Michael Kosinski

South Farmingdale WD:          John Hirt

South Huntington WD:            Dominick Feeney

Westbury WD:                         Vincent Abbatiello

West Hempstead WD:             Joseph Marando

NSWCA is comprised of water commissioners from 21 Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts. NSWCA is dedicated to communication, efficiency and best practices among Long Island’s water districts. As part of its mission, the association holds monthly educational meetings sponsoring experts on topics that include law, cost efficiencies, rules and regulations and issues germane to water utilities.