Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association


View All News and Events

NSWCA Welcomes New Commissioners

Albertson, NY USA………….December 19, 2016 ­ The Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners¹ Association (NSWCA)  welcomed newly elected and re-elected water commissioners representing 21 Long Island water districts following the recent annual water district elections. The three-year terms of office for elected commissioners run from January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2019.

NSWCA President and Massapequa Water District Commissioner Raymond J. Averna commented, “It is with great pleasure that I congratulate the elected commissioners and welcome both new and returning colleagues to the NSWCA. Commissioner-run water districts give residents of Nassau and Suffolk a voice about our vital water supply on the most local of all levels in each community. Long Island residents have expressed their preferences and opinions through the voting process and have selected the candidates of their choice. On this hyper-local community level, every vote truly counts. It is refreshing to see grass roots democracy in action.”


Above, top row, left to right:  Newly elected or re-elected Commissioners Asmus, Hesse, Borchers, Johansen, Klein, Rich, Pugliese, Jones

Above, bottom row, left to right:  Commissioners Averna, Tonna, Sparacio, Vey, Brosnan, Germain, Brigandi, McLaughlin.

Commissioners Raymond Averna, Gary Brosnan, Ralph Pugliese and Timothy Stellato have served  as NSWCA Presidents.

Full list of Commissioners below.


Albertson Water District: Kenneth Vey

Bethpage Water District: Theresa Black 

Carle Place Water District: Timothy E. Stellato

Cathedral Gardens Water District: Joseph Corino

Franklin Square Water District: Ralph D. Pugliese

Garden City Park Water District: Kenneth Borchers 

Glenwood Water District: Peter A. Hesse

Greenlawn Water District: John T. McLaughlin 

Hicksville Water District: Nicholas J. Brigandi 

Jericho Water District: James Asmus

Locust Valley Water District: Anker Johansen 

Manhasset-Lakeville Water District: Steven Flynn

Massapequa Water District: Raymond J. Averna

Oyster Bay Water District: Michael F. Rich, III 

Plainview Water District: Amanda Field 

Port Washington Water District: Mindy Germain 

Roslyn Water District: Dr. Sanford E. Klein 

South Farmingdale Water District: Gary Brosnan

South Huntington Water District: Paul Tonna       

West Hempstead Water District: C. John Sparacio

Westbury Water District: Kenneth O. Jones