Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association


View All News and Events

Legislators Walker and Schaefer at NSWCA

The NSWCA was pleased to welcome Nassau County legislators Rose Marie Walker and Laura Schaefer and to a recent training meeting held at the Westbury Fire house. Ms. Schaefer and Ms. Walker have long been huge advocates of clean water for all Long Island communities. Matters discussed the meeting were the many new developments that are affecting water districts and residents, the need for conservation as well as long term sustainability.

Ms. Walker has represented Nassau County District 17 since 2009. The 17th District encompasses Hicksville, Massapequa, Bethpage, Farmingdale, Seaford, Wantagh and portions of Old Bethpage. She currently serves as the Chair of the Health and Social Services Committee, Vice Chair of the Minority Affairs Committee and as a member of the Veterans and Senior Affairs Committee and Finance Committee.

Ms. Schaefer represents Nassau County District 14. First elected to the Nassau County Legislature in 2013 Laura was re-elected by wide margins in 2015 and again in 2017. Legislative District 14 includes Garden City, Garden City South, Carle Place and portions of Westbury, Jericho, Hicksville, Bethpage, Plainview, West Hempstead, Hempstead and Franklin Square.

The Nassau County Legislature: The Nassau County Legislature, formed in 1996, is the legislative arm of the Nassau County government. Comprised of single representatives from each of the County’s 19 districts, it is the Legislature’s duty to draft and approve local laws that affect the County and its residents.

Photo:  Left to Right:  Larry Zaino Carle Place Water District Commissioner and NSWCA Treasurer; Legislator Laura Schaefer; Michael F. Rich III, Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner and NSWCA President; Amanda Field Plainview Water District Commissioner and NSWCA Secretary; Legislator Rose Marie Walker.