Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association


View All News and Events

Elected Water Commissioners Announced by NSWCA

Re-elected and newly elected Commissioners to serve three-year terms from 1/2/22 – 12/31/24

Voters in both Nassau and Suffolk Counties made their selections at the polls on Tuesday, December 14, 2021, electing or re-electing water commissioners in 21 Long Island commissioner-run water districts. The Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association commissioners are collectively responsible for maintaining and providing the highest standards of water quality, supply and distribution to more than 620,000 consumers

2021 NSWCA President and Plainview Water District Commissioner Amanda R. Field commented, “I am extremely pleased to welcome our newly elected commissioners and returning colleagues to the NSWCA. Commissioner-run water districts are hyperlocal and by their very nature, commissioner elections are held annually. All registered residents are encouraged to exercise their voting privilege and vote for their candidate of choice that’s running for the commissioner. Candidate platforms include such topics as conservation, sustainability, governmental compliance, water quality and district economics.”

Newly-elected or re-elected commissioners are as follows:

  • Ed Scott, Albertson Water District Newly-elected
  • John F. Coumatos, Bethpage Water District Re-elected
  • Italo J. Vacchio, Carle Place Water District Re-elected
  • Glenn Barnett, Cathedral Gardens Water District Re-elected         ­
  • Madeline Presta, Franklin Square Water District Re-elected
  • Alan Cooper, Garden City Park Water Newly-elected
  • Rod Ford, Glenwood Water District Newly-elected
  • James Logan, Greenlawn Water District Re-elected
  • Karl M. Schweitzer, Hicksville Water District Re-elected
  • Thomas Abbate, Jericho Water District Re-elected
  • Charles Savinetti, Jr., Locust Valley Water District Newly-elected
  • Brian Morris, Manhasset-Lakeville Water District Re-elected
  • Michael E. Mazzola, Massapequa Water District Re-elected
  • Richard P. Niznik, Oyster Bay Water District Re-elected
  • Andrew N. Bader, Plainview Water District Re-elected
  • David Brackett, Port Washington Water District Re-elected
  • Michael Kosinski, Roslyn Water District Re-elected
  • John Hirt, South Farmingdale Water District Re-elected
  • Joseph Perry, South Huntington Water District Re-elected
  • Joseph M. Marando, West Hempstead Water District Re-elected
  • Rodney Caines, Westbury Water District Re-elected

Re-elected and newly elected Commissioners announced by NSWCA